Time’s Fun When You’re Having Flies

One frog sat on a lily pad after being transformed by the witch. His pinkish skin creasing as his large black eyes scanned the water beneath his pad and the flies that populated the air. The witch gloated from the shore of the pond. “That’ll teach you to never use that word again”. She was magically beautiful but had cruelty behind her eyes. The frog assumed it was because her pointy hat made it hard to get through doorways.. 

“I’m sorry,” said the frog, still examining his surroundings. “I thought it was ok to call you a witch”. 

“You didn’t use the word witch!” she said, putting her hands on the hips of her black dress, waiting for a response. 

“I’m very sorry. I would never call someone something so horrible. It sounded like I called you something mean and I feel dreadful”. The frog, satisfied with his surroundings, gave the witch his undivided attention. He made a slow black-eyed blink and waited for her to speak.  

“Now I want you to think about all you’ll miss as a frog”. 

The frog pondered. “Angry letters from the bank and angry calls from my landlord”. The frog noted the witch might burst some of her capillaries in rage. “There’s a new flavor of noodles coming out and I’ll miss that I suppose. This is your moment. Sorry if I’m ruining it”. She opened her mouth. “I don’t need to shave again, do I”?

“You’ll change your tune when you spend a considerable amount of time as a frog” snarled the witch. 

“Well, you know what they say; Time’s fun when you’re having flies”. The frog extended a tongue, caught a fly, and munched happily. 

“You’re supposed to suffer” screamed the witch. “Why aren’t you suffering”!!!

“You seem upset” said the frog. “Do you know what might help”?

 

Two frogs sat on a lily pad after being transformed by the witch.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.